When Dimple Met Rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi

BooksInNeed, with a book that I was about to die at laughter about, and that I loved.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

This book is going under my  ‘favorite book that is not in a series’ category. It’s that good. Like, for the few hours after I finished the book, all I could think and talk about is how amazing the book was. If I’ve actually met anybody while I was reading this, in person, they would know that this all I’m going to be talking about until I find another book that’s this amazing (I doubt), or I find another book that is really confusing and I have to spend all of my time thinking ‘Wait-WHAT?!?’. When Dimple Met Rishi also was hilarious. I saw the book a few moths ago, and it said it was a romantic comedy a few months ago and thought it was really cheesy love thing where the main character is like ‘No… I love you’ while I roll my eyes. What’s funny is when its like, ‘and she fell to her knees dramatically and lets out a sob. “My lipstick tube!” she screams half-deliriously. “Prince Charming, I must find him, where is he?!?!” She fumbles with her IPhone 7 and as she called him. No reception of course. “Curse the 1800’s!” she said her voice shill. What type of world didn’t have reception?!? “How do people survive this… this madness!she screamed again, at no one in particular.’. I know, I shouldn’t become an author, or people will be forced to die of boredom, but that was funny, admit it (it took me a few minutes to come up with that, I think that’s why its so bad). Well, this book is a hundred (try a million) times better, and actually funny (unlike me) and had me trying hard not to laugh. Dimple was amazing at coding and was the daughter of two Indian parents, who had an arranged marriage that they were now setting up for her. Rishi was always a rule follower, unlike his younger brother. So when his parents set up the marriage with Dimple, he didn’t complain. Dimple was the total opposite. She didn’t want to marry right now, and especially not an arranged marriage. Actually, they’re both polar opposites, with Rishi being a rule follower, and Dimple being defiant. When they both want to go to the same program, Insomnia Con, their parents find the perfect chance for both of them to meet. When Dimple goes to Insomnia Con, Rishi takes her by surprise (understatement) then when she realizes that her mother’s choice of an ‘Ideal Indian Husband’ was with her in her life, and Insomnia Con. Great. When they both grow closer, they realize that there is more to both of them than they both ever knew. When Dimple realizes that Rishi is good (another understatement) artist and she helped him embrace his future. Only that once Insomnia Con is over, they probably won’t see each other ever again because they were both were going to different collages. Will they get their happily ever after? Or was the arranged marriage doomed from the start?

“But that was Rishi… he was like that pop song you thought you couldn’t stand, but found yourself humming in the shower anyway.”

-Sandhya Menon, When Dimple Met Rishi

Thank you, Sandhya Menon, for this absolutely amazing book that had to be one of the best that wasn’t in a series, and showed me that it doesn’t matter if we are not the same as everybody else, but we can still be better and find our happily ever after.

This book was so amazing, that it needed another shout out for its amazing ness, so everybody reading this needs to finish it then be like, “I need this book, thanks BooksInNeed!”, and I also want to say thank you to all of you reading this and following my blog also. My infinite thanks to you, and you are the best.

-BooksInNeed

Leave a Reply

